• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

A Commentary on Comic Books

I haven’t seen Waiting for Superman. I didn’t watch the report on MSNBC yesterday and the Town Hall meeting. I didn’t even follow the commentary on Twitter with my colleagues. I’m not sure what Education Nation is all about at this point. I don’t need Oprah to tell me that there are things about our public (and private) education system that aren’t working for our kids. Teachers, parents and students have been saying that for years. Yet, Superman isn’t the answer.

Now, I’m not a comic book person. I can’t see that I’ve seen any of the ump-teen Superman movies in their entirety, but I was a fan of The Justice League on Saturday morning cartoons. I will not argue the fact that Superman comes to the rescue and saves Metropolis countless times on the big and small screen and on newsprint pages around the world. But there are few things that I would like to point out about the idea of Superman that will certainly NOT save education.

Superman works alone. Superman doesn’t even have a sidekick. He hides his real identity from the world and toils away each day in a pretend job just waiting to be called to fix a situation. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate his intentions to protect the world from evil, but this won’t work for kids. Over the past several decades, people, programs and propoganda have swooped in to save the day countless times. Not one of these theories has made a significant, long-term impact on the education system in the United States. No one person or idea is going to help our children.

Superman doesn’t share secrets. Superman can’t be everywhere at once, but if he would have found a way to share his powers and his secrets, imagine the greater good he could have offered. Real reform is going to come in the form of waves of citizen groups who stand up to fight for our schools together, not in anonymous isolation from one another.

The trouble always comes back. Superman doesn’t help stop the problems until they are already too big to be managed and the same issues keep arising. I mean, how many episodes does Lex Luther have to be in before Superman realizes that something he’s doing to eliminate the problem isn’t actually doing that? If Superman has to save the day more than once, he hasn’t really saved it, he has just prolonged the problem. If we put a solution for our schools into play, and the problem is only fixed for a few months, days or years, then it isn’t solved.

I am all for reform of public schools and education in the United States, but Superman isn’t the one to save us. If we are, in fact, waiting for Superman, we have a bigger problem than what we are facing now.

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly Hines and Cheryl Wolotira, Becky Goerend. Becky Goerend said: Why I don't want to be Superman… Good thoughts from @kellyhines A Commentary on Comic Books http://ht.ly/2LUcV […]

  2. Hi Mrs. Hines! I truly enjoyed this post as well! I completely agree with you! If we are waiting on Superman, we are in a heap of trouble. I loved the points you made about how it’s going to take more than just one person or one idea to reform our education system. I also don’t believe it will happen all at once, it’s a process that will take time. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  3. Hi Mrs. Hines. I am a student at the University of South Alabama in EDM 310. I agree with what you said in this post. We can not wait for Superman to come and change everything. Everyone who is in education should share ideas and work together to make a difference in the world of education. Thank you for your post.

  4. […] View the original article here […]

Leave a Reply

