• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

In a Slump

For a few days now, I’ve been wanting to add to my blog. But I have nothing to say. Yes, it’s true. Or at least I feel like it is. Is it because I’m on spring break? Maybe it is stemming from the fact that this school year has drained me physically and emotionally. It could be that I am feeling powerless right now.

So, why am I blogging when I have nothing to say. I’m not sure. I’m sitting at my computer tonight just letting the words flow from my fingertips to the keyboard, hoping that something insightful will emerge.

Then I wonder, what do you do when you feel like you are in a slump? What advice to you offer? What personal thoughts do you extend? It’s something that we all go through. As mentors to other educators, we are called upon to offer these words of encouragement.

Photo Credit: Frustration, Frustration

2 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly Hines, Jason Ramsden. Jason Ramsden said: RT @kellyhines: New at Keeping Kids First. In a Slump. https://keepingkidsfirst.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/in-a-slump/ Soliciting advice. […]

  2. Hi Ms. Hines,
    I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. I have enjoyed following you on twitter and have read over many of your blog posts. I have obtained many resources and gained knowledge from your posts. As a former teacher I know how you feel about being in a slump. The weather is just too nice to think about blogging. I find it hard sometimes too when I have set the bar so high for myself that I can’t live up to my own standards. Sometimes we just have to take a step back and let others do it for a while and join in when we feel we are ready. Everyone deserves a break and time off often does us good. Just know that you are making a difference and your contributions are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

