• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

The Wisdom of Crowds

Winter break is always one of my most sacred times to read and absorb new information from news, Twitter, books and journals. Some is purely for fun and entertainment, while I also try to bring in something to push myself professionally and just to get to asking more questions. One book I picked up this year was The Wisdom of Crowds by James Surowiecki. This book focuses on decision making trends of the individual, groups, corporations and government institutions and how this process is carried out. While not specifically focused on education, The Wisdom of Crowds has many applications to the world of K-20 education and its evolution in the future. Surowiecki’s  collection of extensive research, coupled with his easy to digest writing style, makes this book as fascinating read on the possibilities of educational leadership reform. Throughout the book I found many parallels to how I, and many others that I know, use their PLNs (personal learning networks). When faced with a challenge in my classroom, with colleagues or in my school, I often consult the diverse backgrounds, experiences and opinions in my PLN. Their input and ideas, as well as their willingness to challenge mine for the benefit of the right decision, are critical in my own professional decision making now. Maybe I should start calling it my DMN (decision making network) and it will catch on!

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly Hines, Elaine Nessman. Elaine Nessman said: RT @kellyhines One for my list of must reads The Wisdom of Crowds https://keepingkidsfirst.wordpress.com/2009/12/26/the-wisdom-of-crowds/ […]

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by kellyhines: New Post: The Wisdom of Crowds https://keepingkidsfirst.wordpress.com/2009/12/26/the-wisdom-of-crowds/

  3. Sure,PLN can be helpful as far as decision making is concerned!

  4. Kelly, I think that this was such an interesting post. I have never heard of that book until now. I am very interested in reading it! Especially because you said it had an easy to digest writing style. That way I can understand what is going on in this book and really enjoy it! It may be sad to say, but I have not really taken the time to figure how all of our leaders make their decisions. I think this was an excellent post!

Leave a Reply

