• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

Dear Santa

Dear Santa,

Merry Christmas Santa! It’s hard to believe it’s that time of year again. I hope you, Mrs. Claus and your elves are doing well. I know you are very busy. It’s been a tough year, but I am definitely keenly aware of all my blessings. I tried my best to be a good girl, and I know I’ve messed up plenty of times. I’m hoping you will overlook those infractions for me. I have decided that this year I don’t need anything, but I hope you will consider my wishes for some special people in my life.

Santa, my students are very special to me. For them, I ask you bring the gift of insatiable curiosity. Sprinkle them with a hunger for learning that will not be quenched by the questions they ask me or answers I give. Make this gift last a lifetime that no one will be able to discourage the excitement that comes with it.

For my peers, Santa, I ask you to please bring connections. Bestow upon my fellow teachers a group of individuals with whom to laugh, cry, share, challenge and grow. Let them feel the benefits and support of a like-minded group of individuals who all want what is best for our students. Let these connections lift one another up and create an inviting network that will enhance their teaching and learning.

Mr. C., I can’t forget our leaders – the people making decisions that affect us all. Please bring them giant stockings full of fearless and focused wisdom. Let their hearts not be swayed by the forces that negatively affect the focus of our country. Instead, keep their eyes, hearts and minds focused on leading our country to a bright, positive future that embraces our individuality, our gifts and our potential.

For my sweet boys, Santa, please fill their hearts with wonder. When they see a sunset or a grasshopper or a great 3D movie, give them wide eyes and a gaping mouth. Let them gasp at the sight of sparkling lights and giant ice cream cones. Give them the desire to try new things, without the fear of failure. Allow them to be amazed at themselves and the world around them on a daily basis.

Finally, Santa, bring the world a never-ending supply of hope mixed with action. There doesn’t seem to be enough of that going around lately. When things get tough, help us remember to be hopeful of what great things we can be and what we can accomplish – just don’t let us forget to take action.

Thanks Santa for thinking of those people who are most important to me. I think they would all love their gifts. As for me, this year I am just grateful.

Your friend (and true believer),

Kelly

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mysza/ / CC BY 2.0

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly Hines, David S. Doty. David S. Doty said: Hope with action–we do meed more of both. RT @kellyhines: Have you written your letter to Santa? Mine is on my blog: http://bit.ly/6XVKWZ […]

  2. Thank you for sharing your letter.. inspiring and reflective. I love the phrase you used, “hope mixed with action.” Your students are so lucky to have you as a daily inspiration. May all of your requests be granted.

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly Hines: Have you written your letter to Santa? Mine is new on my blog: http://bit.ly/6XVKWZ

  4. Oh what a great letter to Santa. Left me feeling hopeful and grateful. Thanks and blessings to all.

Leave a Reply

