• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

NCSTA: Day 2 of Teaching and Learning

Today was the second full day of teaching and learning at the 4oth annual North Carolina Science Teachers’ Association, and what a day it was! I want to share some about what I learned, and even some about I shared in my sessions.

Dr. Joseph Levine gave a fascinating keynote this morning titled “What’s Up with the Flu?” He focused on various strains of the flu, zoonosis and the genetic variation of viruses. As a member of my PLN mentioned today, “who needs horror movies. This is real life.”

Powerful resources on the influenza pandemic of 1918

 

Teachers and pre-service teachers working in partnership with East Carolina University shared their projects and activities in a share-a-thon session. They featured many high school activities and programs, as well as some of their summer program offerings. Here are a few things they shared!

Free online tools for species identification and classification

Interactive web-based Genetics labs (Mendel is an action figure – so cool)

Energy Smart Resources from Scholastic and the Magic School Bus

 

Today was also a chance for me to share with my fellow science education professionals about areas of science instruction that I love – those related to technology. I shared sessions on interactive sites for teachers and students to use on interactive whiteboards, just with a projector or on individual computers. I had 30 minutes to share resources and ideas with teachers from grades K-12 – talk about a whirlwind! I was very pleased with how it went, but I certainly could have talked for hours. Find my presentation HERE.

 

My personal success of the day came during my social media session, Science Teacher as Science Learner. I took on WAY too much for an hour, and many of my participants actually hung around later to finish and expand discussions.  One teacher came in saying that she didn’t like the internet. She left saying she was going to try some of the social media/PLN ideas I shared. I was blown away. I was curious about what changed her mind, and she mentioned that she felt validated that there is dangerous and useless stuff on the internet, but I convinced her that the possibilities for learning that exist with a Personal Learning Network online. I learned an important lesson here.  She was open to learning more because I didn’t tell her she was wrong. I didn’t try to convince her that there was nothing to worry about with social networking. Instead, I acknowledged these concerns but pushed through to the benefits! I’m definitely filing that one away for next time.

 

Thanks for sharing in my learning from NCSTA this year!

One Response

  1. Kelly, excellent post! Glad to hear that you had a great experience learning, presenting, and sharing. Your advice on not telling reluctant users that they are wrong is also great advice. I will share this post with some of my science teacher colleagues.

Leave a Reply

