• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

What a Day in My PLN

Wow! Today was an amazing day in my PLN. My head is spinning – in a great way. It’s hard to believe that just 3 short months ago I felt like I was alone in my endeavors to push learning in new ways with my students. Yeah for a day of training with Will Richardson. Yeah for Dan Froelich and the technology modules of North Carolina Teacher Academy. Yeah for new friends and colleagues.

So, this morning I got to sleep late. I woke up to a fresh pot of coffee, the dishwasher loaded and running and kids who were trying to be quiet. I slid onto the couch and popped open the laptop. I didn’t imagine what fun was in store for me today. I haven’t even been able to process through it all yet, but I wanted to share a little bit of what I’ve been reading/thinking/digesting.

U.S. News & World Report posted an article today titled “Influential Groups Lay Out Road Map for Improving U.S. Education.” This article speaks to (and links to) a report from the National Governor’s Association called “Benchmarking for Success: Ensuring U.S. Students Receive a World-Class Education.” Now, I haven’t made it through the report yet, but I’m interested to do so. Glen Westbroek and I were tossing around some ideas on Twitter this morning. John also chimed in from Yorkshire, England with information for me on PISA.

  • What might this mean for state standards?
  • What are the benefits of having national standards/competencies, rather than local? What are the drawbacks?
  • Would resource quality and sharing improve with more consistent expectations?
  • Could assessment improve?

Ok, enough on that one. Still need to think some more. Thoughts on these questions would be great.

So, then… microblogging for education. I’m totally excited about what this has to offer because of what Twitter has done for my professional learning. More to come on that one. Here’s a taste of what’s sitting in my Firefox tabs for tomorrow.

To top it off, Will Richardson was motivated to organize an Elluminate discussion by a long Twitter talk yesterday with Ben Grey and others about how to define 21st Century Literacy/Skills/etc. Over 85 educators, leaders, and learners from around the world “met” at 1:00 pm EST in a chat room to chat, to talk, to listen, to debate and to learn. Posts will be going up with an audio log, but you can see the Literacy Discussion wiki here. You’ll find the chat log to review. I still have a lot to process before I’m ready to post much more. I would encourage my readers, my friends, my family, the parents of my students, and others to invest in this discussion. Consider it’s implications. Share your thoughts.

So, I just had to get some things out of my head and begin getting them on “paper.” Not sure where that expression is going in the future… anyways. You can probably consider these things a preview of topics to come.

Thoughts? Comments? Interact with me! 🙂

One Response

  1. Just as you, I am learning more and more each day from my PLN. Over the last few months it has been great to interact with people all over the world and learn new and exciting ways technology is being utilized. It is an exciting time to be connected with so many intelligent and motivated people!

Leave a Reply

