• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

7 Things You Don’t Really Need to Know About Me meme

Darcy Moore tagged me in his recent post, so I want to do my best oblige. Here are 7 things that you don’t really need to know about me.

1. I was a French major in college, along with my degree in Elementary Ed. I studied at the Sorbonne in Paris for a semester, which is an experience for which I am so thankful every day. It allowed me to experience different cultures first hand, to live with a wonderful French family and to freely travel around Europe for 6 months.

2. I am the proud (and exhausted) mother of 5 year old twin boys. They were born 6 1/2 weeks early in 2003. Despite being premature, Tyler (the oldest by 11 minutes) was actually born with a tooth. We went straight to bottles, as you can imagine.

3. I am 6’0 tall. No, I didn’t play basketball. I’m a volleyball girl. Perfect strangers ask me about this all the time. It’s crazy. I was a Christmas party this year, wearing flats, and a colleague’s husband interrupted my conversation with a friend to ask me how tall I was. Seriously?!

4. I am a Christian. Actually, I count this as something that you do need to know about me. My faith shapes who I am and the directions I hope to take in my life. I can only hope that others who know me can already see this about me!

5. I am a closet pop culture junkie. I know it’s mindless dribble, but sometimes I need a dose of nothingness.

6. I love naps. For me, this is one of the few things in life that will truly make me happy🙂 Even better, I love my husband for recognizing that about me and allowing me to sneak in naps every weekend!

7. I remember useless and random information. My mom still marvels about the fact that she can point out something in a picture, and I can remember who gave it to me on which Christmas. I love trivia and am pretty good at it. The problem is that I have recently been needing that brain capacity for other things in my current life, instead of the clown that my Aunt Thelma gave me in 1980 for Christmas.

Now to pass the torch to some of my Twitter PLN – people from whom I learn, laugh and grow every day!

@gardenglen

@Twilliamson15

@danfroelich

@scout7

@AmyKCrawford

@kjarrett

@cwebbtech

3 Responses

  1. I totally identify with your #7 remembering random and useless information. I have the same thing to some extent. I think part of it is because I make a point to remember things from years ago. It strengthens the neural connections!

    Did you read the National Geographic article on Memory a few months ago? There’s a person who recalls details from every day of her life.

  2. Thanks Bill. I will check out that article. I can only imagine what that would be like… to remember every detail of every day. A blessing and a curse, I’m sure.

  3. […] Not (Need to) Know About Me Published January 3, 2009 Uncategorized I was tagged by Kelly Hines for this meme and have avoided it for long enough…Not sure there are really 7 things […]

Leave a Reply

