• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

Will You Rondee?!

Do you need to have a conference call but aren’t sure of a good route to take? Do your colleagues and friends have a hard time making it onto a web-based conference call, like Skype? Do you struggle with reliable internet, right at the time when you were scheduled for an online meet-up?

 

Check out Rondee!

 

 

Rondee is a free conference call solution that allows participants to join in a pre-set conference while online or from a standard cell phone or home phone. This is a great option for those of us who are constantly on the go. I was even able to participate in the NC DEN LC meeting the other evening from the sidelines of my son’s football practice because I could just call in! This is an excellent option when your colleagues are limited by accessibility, travel or other barriers to making it in front of a computer for a set time.

 

Rondee is free,  easily set up, available as needed or with scheduled events, and offers free audio recording.  And why might you need to use a conference call solution…

1. Show your students how to set up a study group

2. Have a planning meeting to car pool to an upcoming DEN event in your area

3. Talk with your curriculum or grade level team to decide on a learning event for your classroom (or who is bringing what to the pot luck lunch)

4. Plan a family dinner with everyone at once

5. Talk to other educators about more ways to use Rondee and DE Services

 

So… will you Rondee?


 

 

 

7 Responses

  1. Hi Kelly,

    My name is Kevin Hutchinson, and I am in Dr. John Strange’s EDM310 class at the University of South Alabama. I am new to blogging, but I am quickly learning the advantages of it. I am always in a rush and Rondee seems awesome. As the son of a former teacher, who was also in a constant state of rush and panic, I see how this could be helpful as both a parent and an educator. Can parents have conferences with teachers using Rondee? Also I noticed that students could set up study groups via Rondee. Have you done this with your students? And how have they responded to it?

  2. I love the idea of Rondee. I usually always have access to a cell phone, so that would make more sense for me then maybe an online conference call. It would really be a great way to have students interact on a project. The hardest thing about group projects and study groups is getting everyone together. So this could be a great solution for that. I would absolutely Rondee!

  3. The German course is my first experience with Rosetta Stone. It is fantastic! My 7-year-old son is doing the course too and picking up German at an incredible pace.

  4. Kelly, my name is Jill Lazzari and I am currently enrolled in EDM 310 at the University of South Alabama. I really like the idea of Rondee. I worked at a law office that was 30 minutes from my home and I would have meetings once a week. Traffic was always unpredictable and I would sometimes be late to meetings because of it. Rondee seems like a great solution to fix being late to a meeting. I also like the idea of using Rondee to make dinner plans with the family. I will definitely use Rondee in the future. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I’m Jay Shiver and I am currently enrolled in EDM 310 at the University of South Alabama. This seems like a really convenient way to set up a group meeting with people who might not be able to easily set up group activities with. Have you ever actually used Rondee.

  6. Kelly,
    Thank you for writing about this great find because Skype is not always reliable. I have used Skype numerous times and due to its lack of mobility I have had to reschedule some meetings. Rondee seems to be easy to use and useful in the classroom. Thanks again for sharing!

  7. […] View the original article here […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

