• K-12 Online Conference 09

  • Edublog Awards 2009

    The File Cabinet was nominated for an Edublog Award this year. I am honored!

  • Game Classroom

  • Top 50 Educator Innovator Award

    Top 50 Education Innovator Award - Online Colleges
  • Discovery Educator Network
  • Diigo

    diigo education pioneer
  • The future is not some place we are going to but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination. John Schaar American Scholar and Professor
  • Shelfari: What am I reading?

    books

Dot Day Is On Its Way

Are you a fan of Peter H. Reynolds? If you aren’t sure who he is or about the great things that he and FableVision do for kids and learning, stop reading this right now and go visit his webpage. Seriously. Go!

If you are back, or just still here, then you know that Peter H. Reynolds and Fable Vision are responsible for some amazing kids’ literature that focuses on finding their own creativity, their own stars. He is also an advocate for educators and offers us wonderful resources, like his free, downloadable posters. One of my favorite books of Reynolds’ is The Dot, which has become so beloved around the world that it has become its own day!

Help your students find their own mark by celebrating International Dot Day on September 15, 2011. Read The Dot together as a class and find ways to have students make their own marks. Need some ideas for inspiration and activities? Check out Reynolds’ page for The Dot  at his website. Start planning now! Be prepared to share your mark with other educators in September!

5 Responses

  1. Hi Kelly, it’s Jill from EDM 310 again. I was to late this year to celebrate Dot Day, but I will definitely celebrate it next year! My niece actually owns the book The Dot and it is one of her favorite books too. I found it to be a great read as well and I can’t wait to share it with my future students. It is very important to inspire kids to find their creativity! Thanks for sharing about Dot Day and Mr. Reynolds.

  2. Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your site is useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  3. Kelly,
    I haven’t had the privilege of reading the children’s book The Dot but I have heard many teachers make positive comments about it. I decided to visit Peter Reynolds site to learn more about him and what he does to help students. After reading the rest of your post, I decided to purchase the book online. I am anxious to read the book to my students and also celebrate Dot Day! Thank you for sharing this helpful information about a great book.

  4. Mrs. Hines,
    I have read the book, The Dot, and it is one of my favorites. I think it is very inspirational for students of all ages. One of my professors read this book in class and it inspired all of us. I also have looked at Reynold’s pages before and I love all of his resources. I have read some of your other posts and I thouroughly enjoyed them reading them. Thank you for sharing this about The Dot.

    Brelyn Searcy

  5. […] View the original article here […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

